Skip to content

Psychology of Running

November 23, 2010

Welcome to my blog.

30th Great North Run - 53,999 runners to run with!

Running in Groups - a great kick!

In the last year I have developed a passion for running. It all started support my weight loss/ healthy way to a healthy body programme. Long story short, having run 7.5 klm in a local village race, I moved my next goal to run 10 klm. Once I achieved this, someone “dared” me to run 15 klm. Which I did. On the way home on the train an experienced marathon runner muttered something about: “once you can run 15 klm then you can also run a half marathon”.

This set me thinking that, perhaps I could. So far I had done all my running alone and mostly in the gym!

I thought that I really needed  help from more experienced runners. So I joined my local running club – The Bergse Runners Club (BRC). I joined then at the end of December.  I can still remember the first evening – partly because I still get the feeling and have just returned from a training session. WOW! the rush – in this case its not just about the running (reasons for runner’s high are explained in the attached link) but its about the COMPANY.

Our run this evening began with the warming up in a large group of c. 40 and then we pealed off in smaller groups.  I went off with Group 1 – and was  the only woman but I know everyone. We were buzzing with excitment as many had run the Sevenheuvelenloop (a 15klm run round Nijmegen, The Netherlands) and almost every one of us had run personal bests. As we jogged along, times were compared, congratulations bestowed and there was much speculation about the following races that we will run. Many of us training for the Paris Marathon 10th April 2011 so the races between now and then form part of our training.

The weather was AMAZING. An almost clear night. Cold. Fresh. I was wearing 2 Tshirts and a running vest with long sleeves – “no gloves” said a friend – “no  – too warm” I answered. The temparature was around 3 degreed Celcius.

As we left the village and started our pyramid run (a series of runs @ c. 10 klm pace (although I am pretty sure that most of us cheat and run faster than we could for a whole 10 klm) with 2 mins jogging/rest in between. The longer runs build up and you come down again like a pyramid: 2 min, 4 min, 6 min, 8 min, 6 min, 4 min, 2 min). Almost immediately we were hit with sharp gritty hail. We ran through it – still babbling. The 4 & 6 min run felt like a long time. By this time the hail had ceased and the sky was becoming clearer. By 8 min we were running along the River Vecht. The air was crisp and there was more oxygen in the air.

8 min felt like nothing and we were on our way to Weesp. We turned round to complete the downward side of the pyramid and head home.

We really did feel as if we were running DOWN the pyramid. The minutes flew away. For the last 2 mins – I was fixed on the edge of the village (Nederhorst den Berg) and felt sure that we would reach there. I was out in front – I think by this time my running mates thought that it was rather amusing that I could stay the course. Then the whistle went to signal that the 2 mins was up. BUT WE HAVE NOT REACHED THE VILLAGE YET!

We jogged back, picking up the babble again and ended with our stretching session.

What a thrill the evening was – I jogged back home – feeling very high and physically and mentally ALIVE!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 23, 2010 11:01 pm

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

Zomerspektakel

Lentespektakel

MPRV.biz

Creating a group of 200 people earning €200K

Maynard's Dairy Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbets

Luxury Dairy Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbets

Zomerspektakel Nederhorst den Berg

Een jaarlijks feest in Gooi- en Vechtstreek

The Devil's Chasin' Me

Documenting the crazy 50-states goal...

the allie world tour

6 weeks around the world - a lot of people can’t stand touring but to me it’s like breathing. i do it because i’m driven to do it.

vitaliteit

Dé site met informatie over vitaliteit, voeding en stress

Feeling-Healthy.net Newsletter Basis

Make good health your business

