Skip to content

Tips on how to avoid Runners Knee

November 25, 2010
MRT meines rechten Knies, von der Innenseite z...

Image via Wikipedia

Runners knee (patellofemeral pain syndrome)  is one of the most common issues that runners face.  It can begin as an irritation and turn into a painful recurring problem.

I have not suffered myself, although I did feel a twinge in my knee last winter. For me doubling up Omega3 intake and exercising my quadraceps (upper thigh muscles) worked. The twinge went away in a few days and has not recurred.

Here is some further information that will help you to avoid runner’s knee.

Diet may also have an influence on avoiding this painful problem.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2010 2:03 am

    As an endurance junkie (7 Ironman Triathlons all past age 50) I’ve never had a runner’s knee (thank goodness). I agree with your Omega3 recommendation as well as eating a balanced diet mostly consisting of raw organic fruits and vegetables, clean protein and proper rest. I also believe very much in “not” overtraining. I use a heart rate monitor and I believe it is one of the best devices to control the amount of aerobic and anerobic running paces.

    God bless you,
    Michael Lantz

  2. January 14, 2011 11:47 pm

    Thanks for posting this, I was running pretty consistently a while ago, but could never really go more than three miles, not because I was tired, but because my legs began to hurt. At times it was my knee and at others my shins. I am new to long distance training, but this was a good article, thanks for pointing it out.

  3. January 15, 2011 12:37 am

    I was wondering what was going on with my knee after long runs. Fortunantly it wasn’t enough to sit me out. But know I will start getting the Omega3 bread at Subway and hopefully that will help. Thanks for the information.

    I found that custom orthodics did wondering for some of running aches and pains.

    Thanks for the info.

    • January 15, 2011 7:42 am

      Hi Rocky,
      Thank you and your brother for reacting to my blog. You may want to consider that additives to foods are usually (I think pretty much always) chemicals and are not taken up well into the body. I have very good experience from WINOmega3 which has 88% EPA/DHA – i.e. 88% Omega 3, and anyway avoid products which contain Omega 6 & 9 whilst they ar cheaper they are counterproductive as they are enflamers. More information: http://www.mywinwebpage.com/feelinghealthy/SC_Product.aspx?Itemcode=115010
      You will also find a link to a dedicated website with more general information about Omega3.
      Please contact me by e-mail: liz@feeling-healthy.net if you would like to receive a sample.

      Best wishes
      Liz

Trackbacks

  1. WINOmeg3 Omega 3 Fish Oil Complex increasing general healthFeeling-healthy.net

Leave a Reply

Zomerspektakel

Lentespektakel

MPRV.biz

Creating a group of 200 people earning €200K

Maynard's Dairy Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbets

Luxury Dairy Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbets

Zomerspektakel Nederhorst den Berg

Een jaarlijks feest in Gooi- en Vechtstreek

The Devil's Chasin' Me

Documenting the crazy 50-states goal...

the allie world tour

6 weeks around the world - a lot of people can’t stand touring but to me it’s like breathing. i do it because i’m driven to do it.

vitaliteit

Dé site met informatie over vitaliteit, voeding en stress

Feeling-Healthy.net Newsletter Basis

Make good health your business

