Skip to content

Is your body as good as mine?

February 22, 2011

It never ceases to amaze me how feelings can change in an instant. I sometimes find that the start of a run is rather uncomfortable. This morning I got up early for what I thought would be a rather nice run in the country-side. I had not run for almost 2 weeks in the Amersfoort area so was looking forward to it.

Sunday I experienced rather cold weather so I went back to winter preparation – 4 T shirts and a long sleeved jacket, running tights with jogging bottoms over the top.

Minus 6/ 7 registered on my car.

I started out – a bit chilly – still I had enjoyed my Sunday run so keep on going. My goodness! My hands were nearly freezing off. I almost never where a hat but wished that I had. I “stopped” to “warm up” and placed my frozen hands under my T shirts – ummm lively and warm. BUT I really was on the point of turning round. I have NEVER done that before nor was I going to start that nonsense now!

I continued. My hands were shoved up my sleeve but were still cold. I started to shake them as I jogged along. Then, as if by magic, my whole body started to warm up. In fact I wondered if I was going to be TOO WARM! My fingers wanted to come out from the sleeves as my hands were warm and sweaty🙂

It was so good to run through Zevenhuizen and then over the bridge of the A1. Calling “goede morgen” to all the dog walkers and cyclists!

Unbelievable – I had a fantastic run and put on a reasonable pace – amazing that the body works so well!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2011 1:09 am

    Wow, were you really running in -7 degree temperatures? I have a lot of respect for you, but also think that you may be slightly crazy . . . Do a lot of people do this where you live?

    • February 25, 2011 7:20 am

      Only slightly, Zeb – what a compliment. I would exactly say “a lot” – its all a matter of perspective really.
      I was out on Wednesday with my club. I think in total about 30 people were running. In my group there were about 10. It took me a bit longer than usual to enjoy it – windchill was awful – eventually that buzz came AND we were warm. BUT VERY wet – it was spitting fine hail!
      Trying to figure out how to add a blogroll to my blog…once figured would be delighted to add you guys.
      Best wishes
      Liz

Leave a Reply

Zomerspektakel

Lentespektakel

MPRV.biz

Creating a group of 200 people earning €200K

Maynard's Dairy Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbets

Luxury Dairy Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbets

Zomerspektakel Nederhorst den Berg

Een jaarlijks feest in Gooi- en Vechtstreek

The Devil's Chasin' Me

Documenting the crazy 50-states goal...

the allie world tour

6 weeks around the world - a lot of people can’t stand touring but to me it’s like breathing. i do it because i’m driven to do it.

vitaliteit

Dé site met informatie over vitaliteit, voeding en stress

Feeling-Healthy.net Newsletter Basis

Make good health your business

