Skip to content

Amsterdam Marathon Training – 3 – 6/13 Summary!

August 24, 2011
Loenen aan de Vecht

Image via Wikipedia

Hah! really behind with training updates. With interviews with German Silva and the excitement of new shoes – life is crazy and good!

The new shoes are going well! That is to say that the training is also going well. The Runkeeper is a great asset as this time I know how fast I am going and what distances that I am covering. My training for the Paris Marathon was more directed at running certain times i.e. for 2 hours; rather than distance at a certain pace. This feels more like serious training.

Indeed it is. After a rest week with only 2X 10 km, in week 4 I ran my first serious distance of 24 km. I usually pop in Sure2Endure at around 10 km to help my oxygen capacity but I forgot it. It was a warm and rather muggy day and the last 5 km were quite a challenge BUT I kept up the pace.

That week also included an interval training of 15X 300 m at 12 – 13 km per hour (my fastest pace). First challenge is how to measure the 300 m – the counting to 15 is the next. In The Netherlands along the main roads there are markers at every 100 m  – I used these as my measuring sticks. I and a duck family almost came to a sticky eind (eind = duck in Dutch, sorry!) but we all survived!

The following week the 28 km went like a breeze – I really benefited form the protein shake afterwards and the warm bath. The interval training was 4 X 2 km at my fastest pace. This I performed on the running machine at Fitness Centre Weesp. It was quite tough but I was pleased when I did it.

I am tending to run my long distances along the Vecht, through Nichtevecht, Vreeland and, now I am as far as Loenen. Its beautiful scenery and I often see the two families of Storks – one living on one side of the Vecht and the other on the other side by Vreeland.

Whilst the Bergse Runners Club training is in summer break quite a few of us still gather for a run. This week and last week my 10 km targets have turned into 14 km partly as one of my friends is running Eindhoven Marathon which is the week before Amsterdam Marathon. He offered to run the 30 km that I need to run this w/e with me on Sunday. The only way I can see of fitting this in is to get up at 5:45 am on Sunday….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Zomerspektakel

Lentespektakel

MPRV.biz

Creating a group of 200 people earning €200K

Maynard's Dairy Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbets

Luxury Dairy Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbets

Zomerspektakel Nederhorst den Berg

Een jaarlijks feest in Gooi- en Vechtstreek

The Devil's Chasin' Me

Documenting the crazy 50-states goal...

the allie world tour

6 weeks around the world - a lot of people can’t stand touring but to me it’s like breathing. i do it because i’m driven to do it.

vitaliteit

Dé site met informatie over vitaliteit, voeding en stress

Feeling-Healthy.net Newsletter Basis

Make good health your business

