Skip to content

Apps! Runkeeper and Dutchrunners

February 18, 2012

Confused? You will be. At least I thought that I would give myself yet another challenge. Some of you may know that I am technophobic – one of the advantages to marrying Joost (although not on the original list, I have to say!) is that he keeps me up to date with techo stuff.

So when I received an e-mail from the Dutch Athletiek Union to say that they had just launched a new app that was already nominated for a prize, I thought I would give it a go.


RunKeeper (Photo credit: COG LOG LAB.)

I am currently in “rest week” for the Rotterdam Marathon training so I need something to stimulate me. That is, next to trying to run between heart rate 135 and 145!! SO is had BOTH apps going when I ran my 45 min run this morning.

The results may be influenced by my technophobia so please let me know how I can better use these tools.

I trust that you will be able to see the link to the results:


I started this app first and ended it first so it may, in any case, have been given the chance to register the most accurate setting.

Distance: 7,85 k

Time: 51,17

average pace: 6,32 min/k

average speed: 9,19 k per hour

calories: 442

I am also able to not only see the route but see each fase mapped out in elevation, speen and pace PLUS I get to see the average pace and elevation at 1k (c. 5 min) splits. I can see, for example, that I ran VERY steady until the last 2 – 3 K when I was REALLY trying to stay under the 145 hr point!

Also got a “Healthy” rating from Runkeeper – looks like a new thing not seen it before but its encouraging!

Oh AND the lady talks to me. This I find envaluable as I know immedately how much time/k I have done PLUS my average speed (I think of you pay she also tells you how fast you are going at that moment


Distance: 7,8 k

Time: 53,07

average pace: 6,32 min/k

average speed: 8,8 k per hour

calories: 593

I could see the route that I had run but did not get the nice profile that I can with Runkeeper. Plus no lady talking – it may that I need earplugs for this…although not keen on running with earphones.

Conclusion so far – I still like Runkeeper and will keep trying Dutchrunners – perhaps I just have to get used to it!



4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2012 2:57 pm

    I prefer Runkeeper as well. Also have used Nike+ for a year, but Runkeeper gives me a complete sportslog instead of the other apps. Have a nice weekend!

    • February 20, 2012 9:31 pm

      Maarten, Bedankt voor je opmerking. I have not used Nike+ so its helpful to know that I am not missing anything :-)
      Fijne week,

  2. February 22, 2012 10:21 pm

    Haha – I think I was trying to ospell check!!!


  1. I’m Seeing Double! « The Running Thriver

Leave a Reply

Lentespektakel en Zomerspektakel Nederhorst den Berg

Het gezelligste feest in Gooi en Vechtstreek van 22-29 april en 19-21 juni 2015

Creating a group of 200 people earning €200K

Maynard's Dairy Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbets

Luxury Dairy Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbets

Zomerspektakel Nederhorst den Berg

Een jaarlijks feest in Gooi- en Vechtstreek

The Devil's Chasin' Me

Documenting the crazy 50-states goal...

the allie world tour

6 weeks around the world - a lot of people can’t stand touring but to me it’s like breathing. i do it because i’m driven to do it.


Dé site met informatie over vitaliteit, voeding en stress Newsletter Basis

Make good health your business


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,816 other followers

