Skip to content

The Olympics are coming!

May 10, 2012

Olympic fever is gripping London and the Nation! I could not believe my eyes as I emerged from the Greenwich tunnel this weekend (BTW I still used the stairs even if the groovy glass lift doors tried to tempt me into the lift!). The Cutty Sark looked AMAZING and the cladding was OFF the buildings that they seem to have been building ever since I started running! PLUS there was an enormous warship parked on the river.

It was covered in “boys toys” – helicopters, guns etc. and lots of boys were taking pictures of it. I later read that, indeed, it was part of an Olympic security exercise.

The weather was pretty good. Well, it was not raining which  I was pleased about as I had left my running jacket at home in NL. I wanted to run 2 hours. But I also wanted to pip just over the half so about 10 mins into my run I decided that I would run c.. 2 h 20 mins. I figured out that I would need to cross London Bridge instead of the Tower Bridge.

I always have a challenge on the South Bank and, although I have run this route many times, I often seem to “lose” the Thames Pathway. Today was no exception. I did not exactly lose it but I figured that I could have run along side the river more, rather than weaving my way through houses.

It was quite surreal  – it’s rather quiet early in a Saturday, with dog walkers and other runners. As soon as you are under the Tower Bridge it’s as if you are REALLY in London! The place is alive with tourists, runners, shoppers, school kids! It’s really quite amazing. As much of our day previous had been spent in the Cambridge area it was such a buzz to be back in the City.

I trotted and weaved my way through the crowds at the Tower of London. On the other side I was suddenly in what appeared to be a shoot of a transparent Mini concept car – groovy!

Time seemed to pass quite quickly and I realised that I would need to run all the way to the end of the Isle of Dogs to meet the time and distance that I was looking for. Next time I will have to go over at the bridge after London!

My calculation was correct! I ran just over 21 K. Still it was MUCH slower than I would run a half marathon and for the Slachtemarathon I need to run twice the distance! I reflected on the book that I am currently reading by David Morgan a Weightlifter who one 5 Commonwealth titles. It talks about the need to build in strength training. The latter I do seem to have reduced and replaced with either running or “rest”. So plan for the week has already been effected  – running every other day and in between 30 mins cardio followed by strength training! Look out Friesland!!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Zomerspektakel

Lentespektakel

MPRV.biz

Creating a group of 200 people earning €200K

Maynard's Dairy Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbets

Luxury Dairy Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbets

Zomerspektakel Nederhorst den Berg

Een jaarlijks feest in Gooi- en Vechtstreek

The Devil's Chasin' Me

Documenting the crazy 50-states goal...

the allie world tour

6 weeks around the world - a lot of people can’t stand touring but to me it’s like breathing. i do it because i’m driven to do it.

vitaliteit

Dé site met informatie over vitaliteit, voeding en stress

Feeling-Healthy.net Newsletter Basis

Make good health your business

