Skip to content

August 19, 2012

So no looming marathon goal at the moment – what does a girl do?

For some time I have said that I want to get my shorter distances faster. What does that really mean? When I started running about 4 years ago, I relatively easily ran 10 km within 50 mins. My fastest time was 46 min something in a local run in Nederhorst den Berg and “registered” time was 2 years ago in the Utrechtse Singelloop of 47 mins and something.

start Utrechtse Singelloop

start Utrechtse Singelloop (Photo credit: helena_is_here)

So 10 km under 45 mins sounds a bit weak.

Except that now I am running longer and slower AND then I started to calculate it. OK – so that’s running constantly (more-or-less) 4,30 mins per km… ummm…

As a preparation to really figuring out the goal and setting the plan I have been including some sprints and longer faster “bits” to my training.

This morning I did a test run – set a stake in the ground – how fast can I run 5 k?

I started at 7 am – ish so that I could get it in before the tropical temperatures and before helping the old ladies to the telephone church service.

I could feel a little of the 40k bike ride we did yesterday on our recumbents. I built in some backwards running that I saw on BBC yesterday, into my warming  up and then it was time to begin the “fast” 5 k.

It started off feeling pretty good and there was a nice breeze so not too hot. After 2 k is was biting and I could feel myself slow. I tried to find a pace where I could settle. I also pictured where the following km would be completed.

No photographs of storks although there were two making a racket on chimneys!

I had to talk to myself at the 3,5 – 4 km stage and figured out where 5 k would be. Whilst the sun was still low enough to have shadow from the hedge it was becoming hotter. I focused on my breathing and getting oxygen into my system. Trying to breathe through my stomach and not high in my chest – was a challenge.

Come on  – it must be the last few meters keep going and at least do some kind of speed!

Boy that felt tough – the first 2 K were c. 4,30 and the last km nearer 5 min / km. And that for 10K – work to do.

I have designed a training scheme also building in “obstacles” such as Paralympics and seminars… deadline 30th September Utrechtse Singelloop – watch this space…Training schema 45 m 10 k

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Lentespektakel en Zomerspektakel Nederhorst den Berg

Het gezelligste feest in Gooi en Vechtstreek van 22-29 april en 19-21 juni 2015

Creating a group of 200 people earning €200K

Maynard's Dairy Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbets

Luxury Dairy Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbets

Zomerspektakel Nederhorst den Berg

Een jaarlijks feest in Gooi- en Vechtstreek

The Devil's Chasin' Me

Documenting the crazy 50-states goal...

the allie world tour

6 weeks around the world - a lot of people can’t stand touring but to me it’s like breathing. i do it because i’m driven to do it.


Dé site met informatie over vitaliteit, voeding en stress Newsletter Basis

Make good health your business


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,816 other followers

