Skip to content

Pyramid Training

August 24, 2012

 

The first of my pyramid trainings was on the training plan for Thursday. It was a day that I wondered how would I fit everything in. So up and out on time.

 

I had calculated that with 5 mins warming up and then a pyramid of 2-4-6-4-2 with 2 mins rest in between each interval I would be around 32 mins – now I had to estimate a route that would not lead me astray:-)

 

Why do this training? It strengthens muscles, legs and heart and trains the breathing. I am also reading articles that support its use in speed work. I was a little surprised to read that Gabriela Rosa, who trains Kenyans to run marathons, also uses it in his marathon training. For me – its the speed – I am well under par at the moment for 10 K in 45 mins.

 

I stayed close to my starting point and ran most of the run in the Amstelpark. Ik took some discipline NOT to turn off and run along the Amstel – which I love SO much!

 

Pyramid of Cestius, Rome, Italy

Pyramid of Cestius, Rome, Italy (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

The first 2 & 4 mins of the pyramid went well.I tried to keep the pace up during the 6 mins and see from analysing the Runkeeper data, that I was a little cautious. The next 4 mins bit and the final 2 mins was a dream as the 2 mins were over so quickly.

 

For me the training also demonstrated that it was about perspective. Having run the 6 mins the last 2 mins was actually oh so much easier than the first 2 mins!

 

On top of that, it was an efficient way to train. The entire training took me 34 mins!

 

I am curious to see if my times will improve in the next pyramid training scheduled in 2 weeks.

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Zomerspektakel

Lentespektakel

MPRV.biz

Creating a group of 200 people earning €200K

Maynard's Dairy Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbets

Luxury Dairy Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbets

Zomerspektakel Nederhorst den Berg

Een jaarlijks feest in Gooi- en Vechtstreek

The Devil's Chasin' Me

Documenting the crazy 50-states goal...

the allie world tour

6 weeks around the world - a lot of people can’t stand touring but to me it’s like breathing. i do it because i’m driven to do it.

vitaliteit

Dé site met informatie over vitaliteit, voeding en stress

Feeling-Healthy.net Newsletter Basis

Make good health your business

