Skip to content

Vision, Focus & Paralympics

September 11, 2012

 

We had had an amazing day at the ExCel Centre watching the various events of the Paralympics.
The athletes were incredible – they were really focused in their goal and there were many where it was no way that they were not going to win.

 

I reflected on this as I began my run. Particularly in my thoughts was the performance of Dutch table tennis player, Kelly van Zon. Kelly has a hip displacement and a difference in lengths of her legs. This did not stop her focus. To me she was all the way gold.

 

Paralympic Movement flag

Paralympic Movement flag (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

My training was a short and sharp one. 50 mins with 8 x 3 mins speed. It does not sound that much and, indeed, was a total of just under 10 Klm. The EIGHT times at speed is the tricky bit. I was in familiar territory on the Isle of Dogs and had also been running almost every day. This training had to be done and I wanted the speed to be AT SPEED.

 

I focused on where I thought that I would get to in the 3 mins of speed. It was a challenge to get the estimate correct. If I was too short that was also an indication that I was running faster than I thought…

 

It got more challenging as the run progressed. I just thought about the Paralympians and the vision and focus that they must have in their training and pressed on.

 

Its also about BELIEF – in yourself to achieve something. This they MUST also have to have.  This is the first time that I have made my training myself – I have to believe that it is a winning formula.

 

The result of the training was pretty good – faster would be nicer and there is certainly progress!

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Zomerspektakel

Lentespektakel

MPRV.biz

Creating a group of 200 people earning €200K

Maynard's Dairy Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbets

Luxury Dairy Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt & Sorbets

Zomerspektakel Nederhorst den Berg

Een jaarlijks feest in Gooi- en Vechtstreek

The Devil's Chasin' Me

Documenting the crazy 50-states goal...

the allie world tour

6 weeks around the world - a lot of people can’t stand touring but to me it’s like breathing. i do it because i’m driven to do it.

vitaliteit

Dé site met informatie over vitaliteit, voeding en stress

Feeling-Healthy.net Newsletter Basis

Make good health your business

